By Matthew S. DeMaria

Q: How would you describe a typical day in your shoes?
A: When I am at Ohio State, a typical day would be waking up around 8am going to practice from 9-12pm. Then, I would grab lunch at the Fuel Zone and go to class until about 5pm. After class, I would come back to my house and usually make dinner with my three other roommates. Then, I would do homework and go to sleep.

Q:  What is your favorite memory from your soccer career?
A:  One of my favorite memories is winning the ECNL National Championship my last year of high school. Not a lot of people thought we were going to win and we even made a bet with our coach, Kinger, that if we won he had to buy us new Nike running shoes. My team was very close and I could not have asked for a better last game with them. Other favorite memories include the U17 and U20 World Cup, making it to the Sweet 16 my junior year of college, and getting drafted into the NWSL.

Q: Coffee or Tea?
A: Tea

Q: What is your favorite hometown restaurant?
A: Hang over Easy (at Ohio State)

Q:  Who is your soccer idol?
A: Marta, Christine Sinclair, and Mia Hamm

Q:  What is something that most people do not know about you?
A:  I can play the cello

Q:  Do you have any siblings? If so, tell us about him/her/them.
A: Yes, I have an older brother Brett. He played hockey at Ohio University and studied Finance. He now works for Franklin Templeton down in Tampa, Florida. I couldn’t ask for a better big brother, he is a great role model and is very supportive.

Q:  If you could fly anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?
A:  I would want to go Lullea, Sweden to go to the Treehotel and see the Northern Lights.

Q: What do you enjoy doing most with you family?
A:  I always enjoy being with my family, but my favorite thing is when we are all together at my cottage in Canada.

Q: PB&J or Grilled Cheese?
A:  PB&J

Q: What is your favorite quote? What does it mean to you?
A: The 10 most powerful two letter words, “If it is to be, it is up to me” – To me, this quote means that if you want something to happen like seeing the world become a better place or achieving your dreams, it is up to you to make things happen. You should not wait for others to do what you think is necessary, you should just do them.

Q:  How old were you when you started playing soccer?
A: 3.5 years old

Q: Who is your favorite actor/actress?
A: Jennifer Lawerence

Q: What is your favorite emoji?
A:  The blue butterfly

Q:  Rate yourself on a scale from 1 to 10 on how happy you are on a daily basis:  (1 being the least, 10 being the happiest)
A:  10

Q: If you could have one super power, what would you chose and why?
A: Healing. I think it would be pretty amazing and rewarding to be able to heal people’s injuries or cure them of their sicknesses.

Q: Do you have any superstitions that you follow?  If so, what are they?
A: I follow the rules of “knock on wood” pretty seriously.

Q: Who is your favorite author?
A: Agatha Christie

Q: If you could have any job in the world, what would you chose and why?
A: Being a professional soccer player who during the off season is part of an organization like the FIFA “Live your Goals” campaign and spreads soccer to women in places where it is less popular for women to play sports.

Q: If you could tell your 12 year old self one thing, what would it be?
A: Believe in yourself and enjoy the moment