Member Update | 2014-15 ECNL Season in Review

ECNL_Logo_final_colorRICHMOND, VA (August 13, 2015) - The ECNL Overall Club Championship is the most coveted award in the ECNL, as it recognizes consistent competitive excellence across every age group in the club. Previous winners of the ECNL Overall Club Championship have been PDA (NJ) (2013, 2014), Slammers (CA) (2012), and Eclipse Select (IL) (2011).  The 2014-15 season has seen a new winner of the award, but a club that has been consistently in the top 10 every year of the ECNL – congratulations to the 2015 ECNL Overall Club Champion Michigan Hawks!

The Michigan Hawks have been in the top 10 of the ECNL club standings every year, and every year have multiple teams challenging for ECNL National Championships.  This year, the Michigan Hawks U14, U15 and U16 each teams finished first in the Midwest Conference, and the Hawks U17 and U18 teams both finished second.  The Michigan Hawks ECNL teams had a combined conference record of (56-8-16), with the ECNL U14 team going undefeated in conference play.  While playing in one of the most difficult conferences in the country, the Hawks’ 2014-15 dominating performances are even more impressive.

“We are thrilled to have won the ECNL Overall Club Championship this year.” said Doug Landefeld, Director of Coaching.  “The Michigan Hawks set out to be the top club in the country every year, and to have accomplished this goal is surreal.  Thank you to all of the parents, coaches, support staff and especially to our players in the Michigan Wolves and Hawks Soccer Club for everything you do to make this possible.  Thank you for an incredible year!”

Below is the Overall Club Top 10 Ranking for the 2014-2015 season

2015 Overall Club Championship – Top 10

  1. Michigan Hawks
  2. Crossfire Premier
  3. West Coast FC
  4. So Cal Blues
  5. Slammers FC
  6. FC Stars of Mass
  7. San Diego Surf
  8. Real Colorado
  9. PDA
  10. Dallas Texans

ECNL Crowns 2015 Champions League National Champions

Congratulations to the teams that won the 2015 ECNL Champions League National Finals! The ECNL Champions League is the most difficult and demanding female youth soccer competition in the world, requiring consistent performance at the highest levels throughout the entire year, against the most competitive teams in the United States.  Teams that win the ECNL Champions League have proven over 12 months to be the best teams in American female youth soccer.

  • U14 – Slammers FC
  • U15 – So Cal Blues
  • U16 – West Coast FC
  • U17 – PDA
  • U18 – Michigan Hawks
  • U23 – FC Virginia

The six different National Champions across the five youth age groups represent every area of the country and clearly show the strength and scope of the ECNL and ECNL clubs.  The ECNL National Finals in Richmond, VA were a tremendous event, made possible through the work and dedication of a tremendous staff and many different partners.  A special thank you goes out to Henrico County, Richmond Region Tourism, and the Richmond Strikers for their support of the 2015 ECNL National Finals!

The ECNL also congratulates the 2015 ECNL North American Cup winners, crowned in Seattle, WA:

  • U15 – Dallas Sting (TX)
  • U16 – Minnesota Thunder (MN)
  • U17 – Minnesota Thunder (MN)

The ECNL Champions League and North American Cup competitions celebrate the best in female youth soccer. Congratulations to the teams, players, and coaches for their fantastic achievement.

Thank you to our 2015 sponsors! 

At the conclusion of the season, we would also like to give a large “THANK YOU” to our partners and sponsors. The commitment and support of these companies provides opportunity for the players, teams, and clubs of the ECNL, and continues to help make the ECNL the leader in female youth soccer in the United States. Thank you to:

  • Nike
  • Gatorade
  • US Club Soccer
  • SKLZ
  • Topical Gear


About the Elite Clubs National League: The Elite Clubs National League (ECNL) was founded in 2009 to enhance the developmental experience of female youth soccer players in the United States through: (i) Improving the competitive environment through creation of a true national competitive league; (ii) Improving the process for identifying elite female soccer players for the U.S. Soccer youth national teams through a systematic scouting and identification program based on national competitions; and (iii) improving the daily training environment at top female youth soccer clubs through developing best practices and training and organizational guidelines for its member clubs.  The ECNL is sanctioned by US Club Soccer and is sponsored by Nike Soccer.   |   Facebook:  /theECNL |  Twitter: @theECNL